Eclipse No. 1

I found myself on the Pacific shore in Mexico on Monday, April 8, 2024 (have you tried searching “April 8, 2024” with Google and seeing what happens?) and for exactly 4 mins (from 11:08am to 11:12am) I witnessed what I consider a celestial miracle. My brain can barely comprehend the physical size of these massive orbs and further, how they lined up so precisely in the quiet of space it feels divine. C.S. Lewis described the miraculous as “an interference with Nature by supernatural power.”

The eclipse is a miracle that demands to be acknowledged. For me, I stood on the edge of the Pacific Ocean and watched how the sun disappeared and reappeared creating a spectacle of light and shadow in a very new way for me - I had never seen colors in the atmosphere or reflecting on the water in all my years of studying and observing the ocean. It wasn’t a sunset or sunrise - it was a mixture of both. I was so taken back by the duality - I felt like my eyes where playing tricks on me. My chest and heart filled with warmth and I wept. I felt my own significance and gratitude for the one in a trillion chance I get to be alive. The immediacy of life and death and life again is what I felt with the eclipse. I felt a version of me die to make room for a new life. I sat down and didn’t move for an hour as my mind flooded with a playback of my life. Its with these emotions and thoughts that I created Eclipse No. 1 (who knows if I will ever make a No. 2) a 48” x 60” Oil on Canvas painting depicting how I witnessed the Pacific ocean in Mexico on April 8, 2924 at approx 11:11 am.

This piece is available for purchase and is being offered here to this list first. After 24 hours I will release it publicly.

If you would like to acquire this piece please use this payment link. Shipping and Framing is not included and I will reach out to talk to you about options - as a general rule Framing is around $600 for a white floater frame and shipping in the US for a piece this size is around $600. If you are anywhere in Southern California I will deliver the piece to you (or you are welcome to pick it up from my studio in Costa Mesa, CA.

Thank you for your continued support. I am so very thankful for each one of you for supporting my work and making it possible for me to continue to share with you.

Eclipse No. 1 48” x 60” Oil on Canvas